my revolving passions's

what do you mean, I can only have one

armadillo, camarillo, picadillo April 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — myrevolvingpassions @ 7:34 am

I love to concoct a good recipe or put together the weeks menu without having to go to the store.  This concoction is a direct result of taking freezer inventory and extras that have been in the fridge from our missions trip 2 weeks ago.

Green Pepper Picadillo
(make sure to click the link for a description!)

Green peppers are something our garden grows exceedingly well.  The first two times I prepped the peppers for freezing I dumped them into freezer bags after blanching.  Obviously this just gave me a huge block of greenpepper mush… not exactly easy to use.  Now I separate the peppers out on cookie sheets and freeze them individually, putting them into freezer bags after they are solid.  This is one of the fastest and easiest ways to “preserve” them and it is so easy to grab a handful and throw them into the skillet.  However, this recipe allowed me to use up one bag of green pepper mush

Ingredients

1 bag of green pepper mush (probably a total of 6 green peppers) chopped
2 onions chopped
3 cloves garlic minced
2 stalks celery chopped
Lard (or fat of some kind, evoo, butter.  you get the picture)
1 lb ground meat (I used sausage, but could very well have been something else)
1 1/2 cup salsa (the “temperature” you use here will dictate the heat of the dish)
3/4 cup of pearled barley ( or rice )
1 1/2 cup water (or more)
1/3 cup raisins
chili powder
cinnamon
salt and pepper

Directions

Saute the green peppers, onions, garlic and celery with your fat.
Add the ground meat to mixture and cook, pour off excess grease and let mixture cool slightly

Combine cooled meat mixture with salsa, barley, raisins and water.
Flavor with spices. (I don’t want to put in measurements, because I didn’t measure, just taste it and wing it!)

Place everything in a 13 x 9 pan and cover with foil.
Cook at 350 till the water has been absorbed, 40 min or so

I topped ours with a little bit of shredded cheddar cheese.

Next time I think I will add some carrots, cabbage or other veggies.  I felt it was a little meat heavy on the dish ratio, but I have a very small meat ratio.  Otherwise, it was delicious, fairly good on the healthy level and yummy.  Let me know if you give it a try, I would love to hear your take.

 

Leave a Reply

